DOFI and the Canine Parvovirus


December 5, 2013, Dofi was squirting bloody stools; was extremely depressed and had no intent for food and water. That morning, she didn’t have the excitement and enthusiasm that she usually had when she sees me. I took her to the vet to find out what the problem is.

Dofi wrapped and on her matt to rest
Dofi wrapped and on her Matt to rest
Waiting for the Vet
Waiting for the Vet
Dofi on the table
Dofi on the table
ELISA test results: (+) CPV
ELISA test results: (+) CPV
– second line is very light; not visible in photo –

Dofi had to be confined at the clinic for treatment and evaluation for 9 days. At day 10, the vet told me that I can take her home.

Dofi in the car on the way home
Dofi in the car on the way home
Dofi back at home
Dofi back at home
Dofi and I (January 2014)
Dofi and I (January 2014)
Dofi's sweet kiss to Sian
Dofi’s sweet kiss to Sian

12 thoughts on “DOFI and the Canine Parvovirus”

    1. Thank you! That’s what I’ve read, too. I thought she was a goner. Good thing I got her to the vet immediately. Uh-huh, she’s a handsome little big girl 😉

      Like

    1. Thanks! 🙂 I’ve had her since July last year. She was in her 8th month when it hit her. She’s turning 1 this month on the 15th 🙂

      Like

      1. Nothing much. Will just take her out for a drive, free run and a game of fetch in her favorite field. It will be a tiring but satisfying day, especially for her. She will be asleep, snoring for the rest of it 🙂

        Like

    1. Thanks! She always makes sure that her big brother (my 1-year and-8-month-old son) gets lots of kisses from her when she has the opportunity. My family and I love her.

      Like

  1. auw my pitbull is going through the same thing now, its his second night overnight at the vet. so far his condition is stable but still not yet eating. just hoping he is going to be better cause he is only 5 months old now

    Like

  2. So sad to hear about your dog man. Our favorite breed is more prone to CPV; along with Rottweilers and the others. But hang on there. Be strong for him. He needs it. My girl sends well wishes to your dog.

    Like

Share your thoughts!